Video and Vision

When I first started coming to Jesus Lifehouse Tokyo on a regular basis, I still didn’t feel grounded or stable. It was easy to just say, “I’m too tired” or “I don’t have the travel money to go”, and as a result I wasn’t growing or understanding much at all.

I was coming, having fun, meeting new people and listening to good advice, and that was all fine for me – at that time.

But something was missing, I felt that everybody had a place and a purpose – except for me. I had no idea what to do about it.

One day during Lifegroup, My Leader Tess asked us all “hey, does any-one have an interest in video editing, because we need someone to help out at church, editing and posting videos”. It was actually a hobby I was toying with at the time, so I just easily said yes, That I’d do it and had plenty of free time. I had no Idea what I was letting myself in for.

Suddenly I was  not only editing, but taking videos, making DVD’s, coming early, leaving late, and pretty much getting heavily involved before I even knew it. Yet, at the same time, I was feeling alive, with a desire to improve and dedicate myself to church. I was truely grounded, and nothing was going to rip me out.

It hasn’t been all plain sailing, for every time I made a good decision, I faced challenge, and every time I made a bad decision, I had to deal with the consequences. I won’t say I was the perfect team member, far from it. I watched people come and go on the team and I watched my friends become leaders before me. When that happened I made a conscious decision right there and then, that I would NOT allow jealousy into my life. I chose instead to support those leaders, and everybody who had the potential to be a leader. I know that decision was a big factor in my future.

Late last year, I started planning, and putting effort into the team like never before. I was helping where possible, aiding in communication and helping others to problem solve. Soon after, The Team leader, Noel approached me with Tess, and completely Knocked me for six when he told me that he wanted me to be Team leader instead of him, over all the others. My reaction? Something along the lines of  “Huh? What? ME?? buhhh hwa…”

Needless to say I accepted, and even sooner than we’d initially planned, I became leader of the video team before the year was out.

It was NOT easy, and I felt that it was a huge undertaking, but without any doubt that I could do it. God was by my side.

I will come like a lion from the thickets of Jordan, leaping on the sheep in the pasture. I will chase Edom from it’s land, and I will appoint the leader of my choice. For who is like me, and who can challenge me? What ruler can oppose my will? – Jeremiah 49:19

And now?

My Team is amazing and ever changing. I’m leading a great team into a great vision and we are the link to those who want the word of God explained, but can’t come to us. I believe totally in what we’re doing and pray that others can get into this vision.

Vision through video

The best way to build church, Is to help out with the small things

Leave a Reply

