The Importance of accepting thanks

Today was an amazing day at church.

Everyone was having fun, I got to see all of my friends, and I felt that everything was really coming together. I felt that my team is also really working on getting passion into their lives.

Today, while working on cables, I realised someone was behind me. It turned out to be pastor Rod. I knew I was in the way so when I saw him I apologised, but he got there first. The thing he said to me? “Thank you, Good Job.” I Just about got out my “Sorry” as he was saying it, but I realised that I wasn’t expecting to be thanked for what I was doing. Yet knowing that my Job is worth being thanked for is amazing.

Blowing bubbles at Saitama super arena

Accepting thanks can lead to a mind at ease.

Right now my only dark spot in the day is where I could have said “Your welcome” or “thank you too”. But I know that the best thing is to be thankful for thanks.

I long ago disregarded the old expressions,  “oh no, it was nothing really…” and “there’s no need to thank me…” because I am certain that it was something, that there is a need to say thanks. I can’t think of  accepting someone’s gift without thanks, so why not accept someone’s thanks without worry?

We all of us know how to thank people, and thank others for every small thing. Yet we never show our appreciation for receiving thanks. Is this human nature? Humility and modesty must have a limit!!!

The same should go with compliments:

“You look nice today” – “Thank you”

“That was a great job” – “I was glad to do it”

“You’re so handsome/beautiful” – “Thanks”

It’s not so hard to do, yet so many are scared to acknowledge thanks. Let’s work hard together to understand that we are being thanked for a reason, and that reason is not to be sniffed at.

Leave a Reply

