Getting Organised

I am not a naturally organised person. When I am organised, it means that I’ve really worked hard on it.

There are areas of my life that even now need some work and I’ll be the first to admit it! But I’m happy to say that I’ve been working hard for both the video team and my LifeGroup.

As I’ve slowly started implementing organisation into the team, it’s been easier to see not only the weakness of the team as a whole, but also the strengths.

Our biggest strength has always been passion. People who remain in a team for a long time have an amazing passion for video and/or church. This doesn’t start this way, but it can grow when you put your time and effort into it. However, We’ve recently discovered that communication was a area that definitely needed to be developed. It’s amazing how simple the answer can be to a multitude of problems. Not enough people for recording the service, or cables in the wrong place, people not knowing where to go or when to get there. Now that we’ve started getting organised in the way we schedule, and before each service, those problems have all but dissapeared.

How do we get organised?

In our team we have started getting together 15 minutes before each service. we have three key things to do before we start.

  1. Delegate
  2. Pray
  3. Check

In any organisation, people need to know what they are going to do before they are expected to do it, this way they can prepare and have time to ask questions. Why should a team be any different? The leader can see who’s available, and place people according to their strengths, the team’s needs, and training purposes. They also have time to look for assistance if there aren’t enough people around to help out.

Praying before serving really gets you into the right heart and attitude. Even if  you arrive thinking that you don’t really want to be there, or feel like there isn’t anything you can really do, praying will lift you up and bring you to a better place in your mind and spirit. When there is someone around you praying passionately and fervently for an amazing service and the chance to communicate God’s word to the world, how can you not be affected?  Don’t underestimate the power of prayer, and certainly don’t forget the necessity.

Checking our equipment before a service is a basic principle, but one that we rarely left any considerable time for. It takes less than 2 minutes, but if you do it enough in advance you can easily see where the problems are and how they can be fixed. Why leave it to the last minute and run around like a headless chicken if something’s wrong?

In life we also should spend time preparing, and we can use the same three principles to help us get organise, just with a different name.

  1. Prioritise
  2. journal
  3. apply
Prioritising everything in our lives is like delegating tasks. If we know what we have, and what we need, if we know what we want to put first in our lives, we can then choose our actions based on what is most important.
When I delegate people to certain pieces of equipment, I’m thinking about what is needed fist before other things. If I only have myself and one other person, then my choices are obvious, I need someone to hit the record button and another to work the projector camera. Without those noting would really work, and so nothing would come out of it. The same in life, If I only have 45 minutes of free time in the week, am I going to spend it doing housework and preparing for Lifegroup, church and work? or should I spend it watching TV and playing computer games? I’ve already sorted out my priorities so the delegation of my time is not even a question.
Journalling is reading a little of God’s word every day, and reflecting on what He is trying to tell me. Writing this down in a journal is the best way to not only reflect, but keep this word in your heart. It has the same amazing effect as prayer, and I include prayer within my Journalling. Doing this on a regular basis has actually changed my life, and brought me out of really bad situations. Using the bible, some paper and a pen a little each day (or in my case now, an iPhone) you can bring yourself out of a negative or depressed attitude, and into one of positivity and hopefulness.
Check. Check your heart, is it how you want it to be? what’s the difference between reading the bible and living it?
New Living Translation(©2007)
22But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves. 23For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror. 24You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. 25But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.. (James 1:22-25)
When I used to get thoughts that could lead to jealousy (“why did she get chosen?”), anger (“what was the point of that”) or unforgiveness (“I remember the time when…”) I do two things.
  • Pray to god to release me from those thoughts
  • Become determined not to think that way again
Its amazing how far prayer and determination can take you. In this way I always use the same scripture to erase these thoughts:
New International Version(©1984)
For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline (2 Timothy 1:7)
Without organising my life in this way, chaotic thoughts and ideas will break into my mind. Without organising my life around God, small things get in the way of the Big Picture. Without organising my team in this way, Passion can dwindle and people will lose out.
How is your life organised? Do you want to be more passionate, skilled and driven?
Let’s get organised together.
Leave a Reply

