De-Clutterfying

In preparing to move to sendai I need to take on the very daunting task of throwing out stuff.

Actually this is a lot harder than it looks, because I’m a bit of a hoarder.

Definition;
Hoarder - a person who accumulates things and hides them away for future use
I’m not pathological and I do have times of just having clear outs, but it does build up over time.
It’s a good thing I move around so much otherwise packing this time wouldn’t just be a challenge, it’d be a nightmare to compare with turning up at the wrong company on the first day of work. (Yeah, I had that one)
But here’s the thing; Now I have a much greater purpose than keeping all these unnecessary things. I’m moving to Sendai to help Jesus Lifehouse there.  My old clutter, which will only be in the way, needs to go.

Completely.

It was the same thing when I first started going to Jesus Lifehouse in Tokyo, I had a lot of emotional clutter, and I needed a clear out. Just like I’m assessing my stuff now as to what to keep and what to throw/give away, I had to throw out my anxiety, my hurt, and my inability to let people get close.

Me, before I could open up (figuratively, not literally, it's a metaphor thing)

Now, I am happier, I can more easily get over hurt, and I love my close friends so much that I tell them that every time I see that.

Whatever happens in your life, are you taking the time to make sure that you aren’t dragging unnecessary rubbish with you?

Leave a Reply

