Even Greater Expectations

We all have great expectations of others, but what about us?

I always expect the best of myself, so that when I see the results of my work, I can judge myself not on how well I did, but how much I’d tried according to my self-expectations.
For example, I did very well in my teaching course. I studied hard, did all my coursework properly and stuck to the schedule I set myself. At the end it didn’t matter what kind of grades I received, because I knew that I’d done all I could to meet my own personal expectations of myself.

Starting a new Journey

On the other hand, When I was at university, I slacked off in my final year, let myself get behind deadlines, and only put in half the effort. At the end of which, although I received my degree, I felt that I had failed myself.
I know enough not to beat myself up over that, but I have also learned enough from that experience to know that I don’t want to go through life like that. Just barely passing by doing the minimal effort.

Making an effort

What do you expect of yourself?

Are you trying to meet your own expectations?

Leave a Reply

