Not What You First Think

It’s so easy to judge by appearances.

I see a spider, I scream.
I see a child, I think “how cute”
I see a man in a suit, I think he works in an office
I see a foreigner, I think they are an English Teacher (in Japan, this is not too unreasonable considering the limited visa options)
I see a girl in a pretty dress, I think “how popular”

20120913-120619.jpg
I see a live music club, I think of gigs. But this is where we have church.
Funny how things aren’t always what they seem.

The spider eats mosquitoes,
The child has a personality all it’s own.
The man in the suit could be anything
The foreigner could be a tourist, an artist, a business person or a student.
The girl in the pretty dress could be trying her hardest to make friends.

20120913-120632.jpg

I wonder what people see when they look at me

What do you want people to see?

Leave a Reply

