Follow the Leader?

Teaching and doing worksheets, I realised how much education is based on “listen to me, now tell me the answer from what I just said”

  

 

How little education is about figuring things out, or standing out and being a leader.
As a teacher, I know the importance of teaching kids to follow, but it’s also too easy to forget the importance of letting kids try out things their own way.  

 

Who do I want to be? The teacher that stops a kids from making up words to their own songs?
Do I want to be the teacher that won’t accept any answer but that which I’m aiming for?
Who am I teaching?
Robots? Little automatons that follow only and don’t get creative? 

 

Or do I want to be the teacher that encourages to see shapes in the clouds, invents new words, creates silly dances. 
My keywords this coming May?
FREEDOM
GRACE
CREATIVITY
  

Leave a comment